Cheap Materials Insult My Intelligence

Whenever I leave the house, I like to wear pants.  That means my belt is my companion, constantly protecting me and the people around me from unpleasant situations.  In the old days, which weren’t even 15 years ago, you could buy a sturdy braided leather belt made of real leather.  These belts were constructed of a single piece of material and they were thick, so you could wear them every day for years.  In contrast, here’s a nearly departed companion:

Belt

This belt, like most others sold today, was made of much thinner strips of “leather” glued to a center piece of unknown material.  It only looked braided.  The strips of leather quickly started peeling off and pretty soon the belt will break in two.  You can see that the top half has already torn.

Incidentally, this was not an inexpensive belt.

15 thoughts on “Cheap Materials Insult My Intelligence

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: No So Companionable | Slam on the Brakes, Pull Over, Take the Picture

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Companion | patriciaddrury

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Companiable | Just Snaps

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Companiable (Playing Companion) | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Finding a good belt now is almost impossible. You find find designer belts and expensive belts and even belts that are partly leather. But they don’t last very well.

    janet

    • I know… I recently bought a non-braided casual belt on sale. It’s the first time since I started college that I had one like this, and it’s all because I don’t want to replace it in 12 months. I never thought I’d be (comparably) happy with a belt that might last for 2 years…

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Companionable | Ryan Photography

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Companionable | Memory Catcher

  8. Pingback: Photography: My oldest companions | Bastet and Sekhmet

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Companionable | blogagaini

  10. Pingback: Photography and Poem: Twin Companions | Bastet and Sekhmet

  11. Pingback: Books, dogs and that Sunday morning feeling | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Companionable | Joe's Musings

Comments are closed.