Do Absentee Stories Insult My Intelligence?

.

This post from 2013 seems especially relevant to current discussions about Islam.  In case you’re wondering about the extraneous material, I originally wrote this as a follow-up piece for:
https://bumblepuppies.wordpress.com/2013/12/06/excessive-adornment-insults-my-intelligence/
Warning to my regular readers: this is not humorous.

Bumblepuppies

If you follow this blog, you may remember this grand photo I posted with no explanation not too long ago:

grand

I’ll discuss the photograph relatively soonish, I think.

In the meantime, I’d like to tell you about a book I’ve been reading: “My Name is Red” by the Turkish author Orhan Pamuk.  Aside from the novel’s murder mystery aspect, it includes a lot of Islamic philosophy on art… specifically drawing.   And as far as I can tell, it incorporates an Islamic traditionalist point of view. (Yes, other perspectives are included.)  Considering all the death threats made against artists and authors who depict Muhammad, I found this novel extraordinarily relevant to today’s world.

That’s in spite of the novel’s 16th century setting.

(Caveat: I have relatively little knowledge about Islam.  Since the author won a Nobel, I trust that his representation is reasonably accurate and relevant.  I apologize if I am…

View original post 422 more words