Churchiness Insults My Intelligence

I am proud to be an arrogant bastard.  Here’s my selfie for the day:

Once upon a time, this photograph looked religious even though it was only a tourist shot.

Once upon a time, this photograph looked religious even though it was only a tourist shot.

But of course you may object.  That’s not a person!  In fact, it’s a church and you are not God…

To which I respond that your powers of observation deserve the highest recognition.

In all seriousness, I have noticed that this blog has been insufficiently churchy as of late.  Since I live in the American South, a region often dubbed “Jesusland,” churchiness is often considered to be an important trait.  Appearing insufficiently churchy can get you skewed looks around here.  (Churchiness is not to be confused with spirituality, which need not take place in a church and often does not accurately describe what takes place there.  Instead, churchiness is the membership card you display with pride.)

And so my selfie is a heavily modified image from Cologne Cathedral.  People who know me can sometimes detect a little of my Catholic upbringing, but it has become so diluted and overpowered by other things that it doesn’t come through as its architects intended.  There’s lots of darkness these days but nothing inherently evil.

My friends may disagree with the “nothing inherently evil” part, but that’s another topic.  Today’s topic was why I’m such a good person.

31 thoughts on “Churchiness Insults My Intelligence

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | growinolder

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | To Breathe is to Write

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | castelsarrasin

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | A Dose of Dharma

  6. Pingback: Irish Selfie | Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Selfie | Joe's Musings

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Selfie (Old School?) | What's (in) the picture?

  9. Bumble, you crack me up. “Churchiness”, I love it! I too am a victim, I mean resident, of the churchy South, and I smiled with recognition at the description of getting dirty looks for not being appropriately “churchy”. Ah, the South, where drinking is a sin but you see people lined up in church clothes waiting for the ABC store to open on Sunday. Hey, around here, if you’re “saved”, you get a free pass. Is that a great system or what?

    • I was lucky.

      I was raised Catholic, which meant that drinking was only wrong if you did it while wearing a school uniform… presumably because underage drinking was bad for the school’s reputation.

      Unless you were in church.

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  12. Pingback: THE SELFISH ART OF SELF-PORTRAIT | SERENDIPITY

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Selfie | WoollyMuses

  14. Pingback: Jed and I | Raising Jed

  15. Pingback: Selfie – The Casual Blonde | Words 'n Pics…

  16. Pingback: obscurity [a series of hipster selfies] | Ramisa the Authoress

Comments are closed.