The Circus Insulted My Intelligence

When I think of circuses, I imagine bright and colorful lights shining down on breathtaking performances.  I imagine animals prancing around in all their glory.  I imagine crowds of people, including babies who are afraid of clowns.

And so I visited Piccadilly Circus while I was in London and discovered this:

circusI got my bright and colorful lights shining down on magnificent architectural performances, but somehow my enjoyment wasn’t heightened.  I got animals prancing around, although I didn’t need to travel so far to see homo sapiens in my own natural habitat.

However, I did see crowds of people.  I’m sure any baby would fear the clowns (a.k.a. tourists) you can find here on any given day.

Even though one can find plenty of restaurants nearby, why would a tourist choose to pause here?   London explodes with greater attractions than these gaudy advertisements… even though the ads happen to be juxtaposed with worthwhile stuff.

23 thoughts on “The Circus Insulted My Intelligence

  1. Pingback: Caged |Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Day 14: Snow Leopard, Dublin Zoo | Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Dublin + 1 picture = 365 days!

  4. Pingback: weekly photo-challenge-juxtaposition | patriciaddrury

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Juxtaposition | Joe's Musings

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Juxtaposition (A (no) Camping) | What's (in) the picture?

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Pilot Fish

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  9. Pingback: Juxtapostition: January 25, 2014 | Through the Eye of Bastet

  10. Pingback: Close up, and far away… | Words 'n Pics...

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | The Wandering Poet

  12. Pingback: Juxtapostition: January 27, 2014 | Through the Eye of Bastet

Comments are closed.