Irony Insults My Intelligence

English: Italian tripe Français : Tripes Itali...

Tripe.  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The time has finally come.  That’s right!  This is the 100th post on this blog.  The first 98 were a lot of fun.  I slammed Bank of America, Earthlink, Haagen Dazs, and lots of other businesses that insult my intelligence.  I wrote about all sorts of terrible products and services that people ought not spend their money on.

And then came post 99.

I was previewing post 99 and noticed something new in the window.  I saw a little box that said “Occasionally, some of your visitors may see an advertisement here.”  As it turns out, WordPress had started displaying ads on my blog.

If you were a business, would you want your products advertised here?  I’m the type of person who would google my own blog just to see the ad and then write a post about how idiotic it is.  (FYI: you can’t be logged in and see the ads on your blog.)  It’s product placement at it’s finest.

And on this momentous occasion, I would like to congratulate WordPress for extracting some financial recompense from my blog.  Even if it’s just a few pennies, it’s a few pennies that prove just how little oversight goes into the spending of (at least some) marketing dollars.

And so…

Best wishes digesting my next 100 posts!  You may interpret my inclusion of that tripe photo any way you like.

12 thoughts on “Irony Insults My Intelligence

    • I don’t know that the companies get to choose. I logged out this morning to check and mine seems to be a liquor ad. I didn’t watch the full minute and 45 seconds, but that’s what it seemed to be.

Comments are closed.