Bad Timing Insults My Intelligence

greek god

(Photo credit: giopuo)

A writer’s inspiration can strike at any time.  Fortunately, one can bring a pen and paper almost anywhere.  Well, I suppose you shouldn’t scribble notes at 65 mph on the highway.

However, I rarely need to use a highway.

On the other hand, I can’t avoid showering.  After I make my daily decision not to offend the vigilantes of cleanliness, I constantly come up with ideas for this blog.  How inconvenient!  Pen and paper don’t exactly work in a wet environment.

I conclude from this that I share a trait with numerous distinguished writers: the ability to productively commune with the Greek gods.  It’s just me and my body in the shower (and some soap too) and I draw strength from observing the divinity manifested in me.

And now it’s time to ruin my comedic timing.  You see, this is where most writers would put a self-deprecating joke about being fat, ancient, or not so well endowed in certain bodily regions.  We don’t go for that kind of predictable humor here at Bumblepuppies.

That means you’re going to have to do without a final punchline from me today.  I’m sorry.

14 thoughts on “Bad Timing Insults My Intelligence

  1. What a comfort! I, too, must be godly. I’ve had to pull over on the side of the highway to take dictation from the gods. The gods spoke to me last night, and I grabbed my bedside notebook and wrote about 100 words that are surely Ancient Greek.

  2. You can always take a waterproof sharpie along to the shower and write on the tiles. And for the car use a digital recorder (or the relevant app on your phone.

    I’m completely missing the point of this post, aren’t I.

  3. Not sure if this would insult your intelligence, but you’ve just been nominated for the Shine On Award! It’s sort of a made-up-but-still-totally-real award that one of my followers, willc88, nominated me for. There’s a catch, though (there always is): you have to list 7 facts about yourself readers may not know and you must nominate 15 other blogs. Well, have fun with that!

    • And look at me, forgetting to give the reason why you’re nominated. It’s kind of the most important part. You’re nominated for the Shine On Award because this blog is some of the funniest stuff I’ve read. The “Things That Insult my Intelligence” topics are pure genius and I know I’ll be reading more.

  4. Pingback: How do YOU write? | Can I Do It All?

Comments are closed.