Kentucky Insults My Intelligence

Welcome to Kentucky (Where Education Pays)

(Photo credit: jbcurio)

I used to drive through Kentucky regularly and I always got a laugh from the highway signs welcoming visitors to the state:

Welcome to Kentucky

Where education pays

As far as I could tell, they were trying to tell me one of two things:

1- Kentucky has more education than everyone thinks.

2- The people in Kentucky are really ignorant, so an educated person who moves there is guaranteed a high salary.

Don’t get me wrong.  I live in the South and I like it here.  I just think that certain parts of the region aren’t too good at expressing what they are… and what they aren’t.

With that in mind, Kentucky finally got rid of the signs several years ago and replaced them with this:

Kentucky

(Photo credit: davebarger)

According to kentucky.gov, the slogan “unbridled spirit” means:

“Kentucky is a place where spirits are free to soar and big dreams can be fulfilled. We relish competition and cherish our champions for their willingness to push beyond conventional boundaries to reach new heights of success.”

Kentucky’s PR firm needed a lot of education to come up with that explanation.   I thought “unbridled spirit” meant “we praise Jesus here.”

If you’re going to insert religion into state matters, at least be honest about it.

One thought on “Kentucky Insults My Intelligence

  1. *holding my hand in front of my eyes and not peeking* I am guessing there was a white church (with steeple) near that sign somewhere with the word “revival” emblazoned on the front sign

Comments are closed.