Misplaced Priorities Insult My Intelligence

I went on an organized tour of Italy a few years back and some of the other tourists’ behavior appalled me.  I don’t mean the typical misbehavior we usually hear about.  Instead, I’m thinking of a focus on drinking and shopping.  People spent significant money to visit a place many people only dream of seeing and they used most of their time on superficial things.

I took this photo in Assisi.  The tour guide requested that we respect the religious procession coming down the stairs by not aiming our cameras directly at it.  I thought the procession was amazing and wanted to capture it somehow, so I ended up with this:

BC1

Ah, the wonders of Italian engineering.  Although I was attempting to capture a significant part of Italian culture with this picture, it also illustrates the world of tourism in my eyes.  The cheap materialistic car dominates the foreground while the amazing architecture falls to the background, far from where the eyes focus.  Plus, the authentic cultural practice remains off to the side, almost unnoticeable as it exits the frame.

19 thoughts on “Misplaced Priorities Insult My Intelligence

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – The world through your eyes | Just Snaps

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – The world through your eyes | Chittle Chattle

  3. The first time I was in Assisi was on a tour from Rome. The bus let us off at a hotel to eat. Most of the tourists spent the afternoon eating fried chicken. I guess they don’t have chicken in their home towns. I toured the churches because we don’t have any saint in my home town.

    • Fried chicken? Yikes. There are a few good fried chicken preparations in Italian cuisine, but I suspect that’s not what you meant. When I went on my tour, people were complaining about having to eat so much pasta.

      Nevertheless, I do make one strange recommendation to Americans who are visiting Europe: visit McDonald’s. It’s a real learning experience to see how McDonald’s adapts to different cultures.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: The World through my Eyes / Pétanque | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The World Through Your Eyes | Memory Catcher

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: THE WORLD THROUGH YOUR EYES | The Adventures of Iñigo Boy

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge 2 – Caos through my eyes | Bastet and Sekhmet

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The World through my Eyes (Ferryboat setting Sail)) | What's (in) the picture?

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Traveler’s Palm Through My Eyes | Humbled Pie

  10. Pingback: Photography: Sunday Walk | Bastet and Sekhmet

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: The World through my Eyes (Pigeon) | What's (in) the picture?

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: The World through my Eyes (Provence) | What's (in) the picture?

  13. Pingback: W.P. Photo Challenge – Through My Eyes – Road Trip | Bastet and Sekhmet

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: The World through my Eyes (Les Amants Nimes) | What's (in) the picture?

  15. Pingback: Back to Ireland | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Comments are closed.