Cemeteries are entertaining, as are mass graves and memorials to dead people.  Whenever I visit one, a sense of cheer always overwhelms me and I want to hop and skip and jump and play.  There’s no better way to spend an afternoon than with a game of freeze tag in the presence of the dearly departed.

The entrance to Camp I at Auschwitz, with the ...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s humor week at the Weekly Photo Challenge and naturally my mind turned to thoughts of death.  And of vacation.  Those of you who read my blog regularly know that I’ve traveled a bit and had the opportunity to see some fantastic things.

And none inspire more jubilation than Auschwitz.  There’s never a dull moment at a concentration camp.  Who wouldn’t be overjoyed at the sight of so many emaciated prisoners?  And at their shaved hair, preserved and piled to the ceiling?  And at the family photos of people who were murdered?

And look at that holding cell over there where four inmates were forced to stand, crushed together, all day long, day after day.  Can you take a picture of me in there?

But of course the historians want to ruin my fun.  They even have a sign up that reads:

You are in a building where the SS murdered thousands of people.  Please maintain silence here; remember their suffering and show respect for their memory.

I am a tourist and tourism is supposed to be entertaining.  How dare they rain on my parade!  And they’ve got another sign out where dead bodies were piled into a mass grave.  They want me to remember that I’m at a gravesite and that I should consider the people around me whose families may be buried there.  Well excuse me!  I have as much right to enjoy my day as they have to mourn.

And where are the damn vending machines?

Okay, I think this has gone on long enough.  I visited Auschwitz almost ten years ago and was appalled that these signs were necessary.  When I entered the camp, I thought the inhumanity I’d learn about was the Nazis’.

I also remember walking through a gas chamber and seeing vacationers who were filming and grinning like they would if they were visiting Buckingham Palace.  It was just another exciting tourist spot they had always wanted to see.

Thank goodness they didn’t ask for a live demonstration.