BBAWHA library was selling off a few “excess” books and I nabbed this gem at a huge discount.  Libraries hold these sales on occasion to clear their overcrowded shelves of books that few people check out.  Some titles understandably fall out of fashion but I can’t believe they let this one go.

Looking at the cover, you’d think this book would have been remarkably popular among library patrons.  Especially the male ones.  Apparently not.  Not enough pictures, I suppose.

You’d think that literature enthusiasts would have flocked to this book.  After all, the author won a Nobel Prize last year.  Apparently not.  Not a “serious” enough title, I suppose.

You’d think that people looking for a nice deep read wouldn’t be scared off by the 500+ page count.  Apparently not.  Only Russians are allowed to write long novels, I suppose.

You’d think that the title would have enraged some feminists or fundamentalist Christians, both of whom might expect something objectionable in the text and raise the book’s public profile by demanding its removal from the shelves.  Apparently not.  The author is Chinese; sexual content and misogyny don’t matter if they originate from outside of America, I suppose.

You’d think that the feminist-friendly contents of the book would have attracted women readers who enjoy tales of strong female characters.  Apparently not.  A man writing about breasts must be sexist, I suppose.

After all of this, you might be wondering what the book’s about.  I’m not going to tell you.  You’ll have to check it out from the library.

Uh… on second thought, I hope your library hasn’t gotten rid of this book too.

On third thought, I hope your librarians had the insight to acquire this book in the first place.